6 Books To Get Out of a Reading Slump

IMG_1175.JPG

Confession: For almost all of my high school career I was in a HUGE reading slump. I found myself dreading reading, even if it was for fun, and mindlessly skimming over the words while none of them sank in.

If you are in a similar situation, here is a list of 6 books that helped me get out of my reading slump, and hopefully will help you get out of yours too!

IMG_1172.JPG

  1. The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat 

Despite having to read this for school, I devoured this book in a matter of days. It’s a book about a mysterious man with a past of being a dew breaker, or a Haitian torturer. Each chapter is a different short story, which seemingly have nothing to do with each other. However, as you read on, all the stories are interconnected. This was a reachable yet sophisticated book that truly helped me out of my reading rut.

IMG_1174.JPG

2. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones 

If you are a fan of Studio Ghibli films, yes, this is the book the film was based on. After watching the movie, I knew I had to read this book. And, as normal, the book was even better than the movie. This book is about a girl named Sophie who gets turned into a 90 year-old woman by an evil witch. Sophie finds the arrogant and handsome wizard Howl to try and reverse the spell. The book follows their hilarious and magical adventures together. People of all ages would enjoy this book.

IMG_1173.JPG

3. Ariel by Sylvia Plath 

I’ve been wanting to get into poetry lately, and this is the first poetry book I’ve ever finished. Sylvia Plath’s poems are dark, real, and make you think. Poetry is great for getting out of reading slumps because they don’t take long to read, but require more thought than reading your average YA novel. My favorite poems in this book were “Kindness” and “Letter in November”.

IMG_1171.JPG

4. Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier 

Like poetry, graphic novels are great for getting out of reading slumps because they are such quick reads. I read this novel easily in one sitting. This graphic novel is about Catrina and her younger sister Maya who move to a new town in California. Maya suffers from cystic fibrosis, which is a disease that can make it hard for her to breathe. The novel is about their experience moving, exploring their new town, and finding a few ghosts along the way.

IMG_1170.JPG

5. Wonder by R.J. Palacio 

This a cute, funny, and sad middle grade novel about a boy named August who has a facial deformity. In the novel, August goes to school for the first time and faces the judgement and kindness of his new classmates. I laughed and cried while reading this and truly did not want to put it down.

IMG_1169.JPG

6. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer 

I also want to include Cinder in this section, because that was truly the book that got me out of my slump but I don’t have my own copy of it. Cinder is a sci-fi twist of the classic Cinderella story. Cinder is a cyborg who lives in New Beijing and works as a mechanic. Her world is facing a terrible plague and also the threat of war from a moon colony that went awry. Initially, I thought this book sounded stupid, but it actually is a very interesting story that only subtly uses the fairytale storyline. Scarlet is the sequel to Cinder, which was equally as good.  I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

Reading ruts are hard to get out of, but if you read some of these books I promise you will be reading with the same ferociousness as a 5th grader reading Percy Jackson for the first time. Comment down below if you end up reading any of these books! Until next time:)

 

Follow me on Instagram! instagram.com/bookmarksandbronzer

 

15 thoughts on “6 Books To Get Out of a Reading Slump

  1. I’m in the middle of a semi-slump at the moment and it’s a miserable situation. I’d love to read but it’s just hard to make the time for it while working and in school. But my determination to read lives on. Your recommendations are wonderful and I can’t wait to pick up Howl’s Moving Castle – I’m in the mood for a little magic. And the rest of the Lunar Chronicles won’t disappoint, I can assure you of that!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s about a house that’s bigger on the inside than it is on the outside. It’s extremely post modernist. I think it’s definitely one of the most important pieces of literature in the post modernist movement! It’s by Mark Z Danielewski

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

